Ireland dashed any hopes India had of making the final as they carved out a 3-2 win.



It was a remarkable performance from a team that had yet to win one game prior to this match.






Sardar Singh led India against the Irish with Suraj Karkera in the goal. 


And ten minutes into the match, Ramandeep Singh put India ahead 1-0 from their first penalty corner.


The Irish equalised through Shane O’Donoghue who packed the ball past Suraj in the 24th minute off a cross from Kirk Shimmins.


But the Indians were back on their feet moments later following a third penalty corner in the 26th minute and Amit Rohidas placed the ball in the roof of the Irish net to lead 2-1.



Ireland equalised in the 36th minute through Sean Murray’s field goal sand went 3-2 ahead via a Lee Coly penalty corner conversion in the 42nd minute.