Defending champions Australia routed China 7-0 in the opening match at the Azlan Shah Stadium this evening.

Around 100 fans were at hand to watch the match in hot and humid conditions, hardly a conducive environment for hockey but befitting a B Grade tournament no thanks to the poor efforts made by the Organisors, who placed profits ahead of good hockey.


it was Nicholas Budgeon who starred for the world number 1 ranked team as he scored a hattrick, all via penalty corners converted in the 3rd, 56th and 65th minutes.

Trent Mitton who dashed Malaysian hopes by scoring four seconds from time in the 2013 final scored in the 20th minute, three times world player of the year Jamie Dywer scoring in the 34th minute with Jafob Whetton ( 37th minute) and Russel Ford ( 47th minute) getting the other goals.

Australia had a 50 per cent conversion rate, scoring thrice from the 6 penalty corners they were awarded in a match they totally dominated.